Eagles Capture First NAC Women's Tennis Title in Program History

Eagles Capture First NAC Women's Tennis Title in Program History

PITTSFIELD, Mass. – Finishing out the season undefeated, 10-0 (6-0 NAC), North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Coach of the Year Josh Warren led the Eagles to win the 2018 NAC Women's Tennis Title for the first time in program history. Husson defeated Lesley College (3-8, 3-2 NAC) with a clean sweep in the final round of the NAC Championship Tournament. 

Husson took all three doubles matches to open up the championship on Saturday afternoon. The first pair of Eagles, Meridith Blessard and Ashley Matlock beat Theresa Pereira and Sara Stanton 8-0 while No. 3 Marisa Brown and Jocelyn Bell took down Lesley's Mary Pulling and Sarah Tobin, 8-2.

The longest match of the day came with the freshman duo, Natalie Tilton and Hannah Malinen climbing their way back from a deficit to top Lesley's Maddie Abbott and Jessica Russo, 8-6. With the match lasting just minutes over an hour, the Lesley pair started off strong going up 5-2 early, then Husson closed the gap to take a commanding 7-5 lead. Lesley took the next set to bring the score to 7-6 before Husson served for the match win.

With three wins already, the Eagles only needed to capture two wins in singles action. Julia O'Leary met the challenge with ease picking up the first singles win (6-2, 6-1), followed by Blessard, the lone Eagle to compete in the finals rounds twice, clinched the championship with a 6-1, 6-0 win.

Husson will represent the NAC in the 2018-19 NCAA Division III Women's Tennis Championship Tournament in May.


All-Tournament Team

Meridith Blessard, MVP - Husson
Jocelyn Bell - Husson
Marisa Brown - Husson
Theresa Periera - Lesley
Jessica Russo - Lesley
Faibe Achina - NVU-Lyndon
Mikayla Messier - NVU-Johnson