Speed, St. Pierre, Ireland, and Carver Earn All-Conference Accolades

Speed, St. Pierre, Ireland, and Carver Earn All-Conference Accolades

WATERVILLE, Maine - The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Women's Soccer postseason accolades have been announced and four Husson University student-athletes have grabbed honors.

Senior defender Alex Speed claimed First Team All-NAC honors while freshman midfielder Mackenzie St. Pierre and sophomore keeper Sami Ireland earned Second Team mention. Sophomore forward Morgan Carver was also selected to the NAC Sportsmanship Team.

Speed, a 2017 Second Team All-Conference selection, claims First Team honors after posting a goal and an assist for three total points in 16 contests this season. A four-year starter on the Eagles' backline and captain this year, Speed anchored the defensive unit posting five shutouts and yielding only 2.16 goals per game. She has played in 69 matches throughout her career, amassing two goals and two points for six total points as a four-year contributor, while starting in her last 57-consecutive games.

St. Pierre earns Second Team All-Conference honors after scoring four goals with three assists for 11 total points during her first collegiate campaign.

Ireland earns Second Team All-NAC accolades for the first time in her career after posting a 1.88 goals against average with a 5-8-1 record including five shutouts along with a .763 save percentage in 1291:29 minutes of play this season. She ranks second in the conference in shutouts, and third in minutes, goals against average and victories. The sophomore was also chosen as the NAC Defender of the Week on October 29th. Ireland now joins a long list of women's soccer players who are also members of the women's basketball team and have earned all-conference honors as members of both programs.

Head Coach Amanda Cummings nominated Carver for the NAC All-Sportsmanship team because she positively affected the soccer culture and environment, and her behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity.

#4 Husson takes on #1 Thomas College on the Terriers' home turf in a NAC Semifinal match with kickoff scheduled for 1:00 p.m. on Saturday, November 3rd.

Click HERE for the full release.

2018 NAC Women's Soccer All-Conference Teams

First Team All-Conference

F- Makayla Lewis Sr. Purcellville, Va. Maine Maritime
F- McKenna Brodeur So. Oakland, Maine UMaine-Farmington
F- Cassie Contigiani Sr. Belmont, N.H. Thomas
M- Eryn Doiron Jr. Wilton, Maine Maine Maritime
M- Lydia Roy Sr. Waterville, Maine UMaine-Farmington
M- Katherine Hoving Fr. Bristol, Maine Thomas
M- Margot Simeon Fr. Findlay, Ohio Maine Maritime
D- Alex Speed Sr. Guilford, Maine Husson
D- Susana DeFrank Sr. Temecula, Cali. Maine Maritime
D- Taznae Fubler So. Smiths, Bermuda Thomas
GK- Emily Conway So. Charleston, S.C. Maine Maritime

Second Team All-Conference

F- Kelsey Cauchon Jr. Colchester, Vt. Northern Vermont-Johnson
F- Madison Rowe So. Brushton, N.Y. SUNY Canton
F- Jessica Hillman Jr. Gardiner, Maine Northern Vermont- Lyndon
M- Ashley Gleason Jr. Scarborough, Maine UMaine Farmington
M- Mackenzie St. Pierre Fr. Waterville, Maine Husson
M- Jaedyn Ossont Sr. Turin, N.Y. SUNY Canton
D- Miranda McIntire Sr. Alna, Maine Maine Maritime
D- Morgann Tortorella Jr. Waterville, Maine UMaine-Farmington
D- Kelsey Jacobs Jr. Braintree, Vt. Northern Vermont- Lyndon
D- Samantha Griffin Sr. Union, Maine Thomas
GK- Sami Ireland So. Howland, Maine Husson

Player of the Year

Makayla Lewis Sr. Purcellville, Va. Maine Maritime

Defensive Player of the Year

Susana DeFrank Sr. Temecula, Cali. Maine Maritime

Rookie of the Year

Katherine Hoving Fr. Bristol, Maine Thomas

Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year

Lydia Roy Sr. Waterville, Maine UMaine-Farmington

Coach of the Year

Deb Biche-Labbe     Thomas

Sportsmanship Team

Jenny Ward Jr. Saranac Lake, N.Y. SUNY Canton
Emily Kelley So. Shapleight, Maine UMaine-Farmington
Morgan Carver So. Gardiner, Maine Husson University
Christina Wheelock Jr. Eden, Vt. Northern Vermont-Johnson
Victoria McCormack So. East Lyme, Conn. Northern Vermont-Lyndon
Allison Boulier Sr. Bangor, Maine Maine Maritime Academy
Mikayla Churchill Sr. Washburn, Maine UMaine-Presque Isle
Sam Cleaves Sr. North Yarmouth, Maine Thomas College