Eagles' Walk Off with 7th Straight NAC Softball Championship

Eagles' Walk Off with 7th Straight NAC Softball Championship

CASTLETON, Vt. – With two on and two out in the bottom of the seventh, Haley Spiers came up big for Husson with a walk-off single through the left side of the infield to secure the Eagles' seventh straight North Atlantic Conference Championship with a 1-0 victory over Thomas on Saturday afternoon at Spartan Field.

Husson was perfect in the tournament this season, as it knocked off the Terriers twice and New England College to improve to 26-11 overall and clinch an automatic berth in the 2015 NCAA Softball Tournament. Thomas, meanwhile, went 2-2 this weekend and finishes its season at 16-23 overall in the losing effort. 

Neither team was able to really get their bats going, as the squads combined to produce just nine hits, with four of them coming in the last half inning of play. Sami Schultz led Husson with two hits on the day while Sonja Morse, Taylor M. Johnson and Korrie Laren recorded one hit apiece for the Terriers.

In the circle, Kayla Merrill improved to 15-4 on the season after tossing a complete game shutout for Husson. Her counterpart, Morse, was just as impressive with 6.2 innings of one-run softball in the losing effort. 

After six innings of scoreless softball, the Eagle bats came alive in the bottom of the seventh. With one out, Casey Lopes and Deb Colpitts hit back-to-back singles to put two on for Schultz, and the junior came through with a single through the left side of the infield that seemingly was going to plate the game-winning run. However, Thomas' Brianna Warren nailed the runner at the plate with a line drive throw from left to maintain the scoreless affair.

Morse needed one more out to get Thomas out of the jam, but Husson wouldn't give in, and with runners on second and third and two outs, Spiers lined the ball through the left side of the infield to plate Debbie Wright and hand the second-seeded Eagles the 2015 NAC Championship.

NAC All-Tournament Team
Sami Schultz – Husson – MVP
Casey Lopes – Husson 
Kayla Merrill – Husson
Lindsy Hoopingarner – Thomas
Alyssa Eugley – Thomas
Sonja Morse – Thomas
Alyssa Krause – New England College
Rebecca Allen – New England College
Kayla Wood – Castleton
Kristi Lawless – Castleton