Husson Wins Fifth Straight North Atlantic Conference Softball Title

Husson Wins Fifth Straight North Atlantic Conference Softball Title

Bangor, ME - The Husson Eagles used strong pitching and timely hitting Saturday afternoon to secure their fifth straight NAC title and a trip to the NCAA Tournament. Becca McCarty was pitcher in what would be the championship game and was named the Tournament MVP.

The Eagles scored twice in the bottom of the first to get off to a hot start. Lona Sargent led off with a double down the left field line and advanced to third on a Courtney Hill infield single. Hill then stole second before Aimee Mortensen grounded out to short scoring Sargent and pushing Hill to third. Deb Colpitts single into left and plated Courtney Hill to take a 2-0 lead after the first frame.

Both teams were held scoreless until the sixth when Husson put up four more runs. Sargent hit another double that scored Heidi Shaw and Lyndsay Merrill and then advanced to third on an error by the center fielder. Hill singled in the infield again and crossed home with Sargent when Mortensen picked up a hit moments later.

McCarty came back in for the seventh and shut the Spartans down improving her record on the year to 11-5 giving up just one hit and a walk while striking out eight. The lone hit from the Spartans came off Kayla Daigle's bat.

Taylor Lively was tagged with the loss for Castleton giving up six runs, five earned, on 14 hits while fanning three.

All-Tournament Team

Emily Soule - U Maine Farmington

Kaitlyn Bartlett - U Maine Farmington

Katie Davis - Lyndon State

Jena Finnegan - Lyndon State

Kristy Pinkham - Castleton

Taylor Lively - Castleton

Stephanie Sylvester - Castleton

Heidi Shaw - Husson

Amanda Ryan - Husson

Becca McCarty - Husson (Tournement MVP)