Men's Outdoor Track and Field Claim First NAC Outdoor Track & Field Championship Title

Men's Outdoor Track and Field Claim First NAC Outdoor Track & Field Championship Title

NEW LONDON, N.H. - Husson won its first North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Men's Outdoor Track & Field Championship on a cold and rainy Sunday at the Sally Shaw Veitch Track & Field.

The Eagles earned today's victory by compiling 198 points, while Colby-Sawyer, the two-time defending champions, finished second with 182 points. UMaine-Farmington placed third (127), followed by Castleton (49) in fourth, while Johnson and UMaine-Presque Isle tied for fifth with 12 points and Lyndon finished seventh (8). SUNY Delhi did not score in the meet as a team, but if an individual athlete won an event he was recognized as a NAC champion.

For complete results, click HERE.

Each event winner was honored as a 2018 NAC champion:

Husson's Robenson Saintard took home a pair of NAC titles in the sprints. After a time of 11.23 to be the top qualifier in the 100-meter dash prelims, Saintard lowered his time to win the finals in a New England qualifying time of 11.14. He followed with a victory in the 200-meter dash with another New England qualifying time of 22.73. In the 800-meter run, the Eagles received a top finish by Zach Hartman in a time of 2:02.33, while Cayd Wortman set a meet record in the 110-meter hurdles to win the event in a time of 16.12. Another meet record was set by the 4x100-meter relay team of Jake DobosEvan ChadbourneRace Bouchard and Saintard, combining for a time of 43.55. Jeffrey Ward came away with a win in the long jump with a distance of 6.36 meters. In the hammer, Eric Hathaway posted a distance of 50.00 meters to smash the previous meet record of 41.45 meters. Justin Martin wrapped up the win for Husson by cruising to a convincing victory in the javelin. He won the event by almost nine meters after a throw of 53.09 meters.

Colby-Sawyer's Kyle Diezel scored first-place points by winning the 400-meter dash with a meet record and New England qualifying time of 50.91, while Karl Nyholm collected a first place in the shot put with a New England qualifying distance of 15.47 meters.

UMaine-Farmington's Shane Hathaway earned the Beavers 10 points with a win in the triple jump. His winning distance was 12.50 meters.

For SUNY Delhi, Kobie Lane took home a medal by winning the 1500-meter run in a time of 4:12.84. Jon Messler added a victory for the Broncos in the 5000-meter run with an impressive time of 16:20.53. In the 400-meter hurdles, Tyler Magnan claimed the top spot with a meet record time of 59.10, while Wesley Cruz came away with first place in the 3000-meter steeplechase with a time of 10:03.90. The 4x400-meter relay team of Lucas Reilly, Sean Andrews, Magnan, and Esdras Charles combined for a winning time of 3:36.07. Delhi's Mike Beebe won the high jump by achieving a meet record height of 1.98 meters, while teammate Matthew Scavetta was the winner in the pole vault with a height of 4.10 meters. Brandon Holliday gave the Broncos another win with an impressive performance and meet record in the discus, winning the event by almost five meters with a throw of 46.82 meters.

Athletes who have qualified will travel to the New England Division III Championship, which is being held at MIT in Cambridge, Mass. next weekend, May 4th and 5th.