Men's Golf Finish as Runner-Up at the 82nd Annual NEIGA Championship

Photo by Monty Rand Photography
Photo by Monty Rand Photography

BREWSTER, Mass - Daulton Wickenden shot a two-day total of 149 (76-73) and tied for third helping the Husson University men's golf team finish as the runner-up for the first time since 2013 at the 2016 New England Intercollegiate Golf Association (NEIGA) Championship at The Captains Golf Club.

Tyler Swarthout tied for 17th after shooting a total score of 158 (81-77). Taylor Morang finished tied for 34th with a score of 161 (81-80). Philip Thome (75-87) and Mackenzie Clow (79-83) each shot a 162 and tied for 34th.

Teams from 32 colleges and universities across New England and New York gathered, on Sunday and Monday, October 23-24, 2016 for the 82nd Annual NEIGA Championship.  One hundred and fifty-nine golfers from Divisions II, III and Club teams competed. The NEIGA was pleased to have Cleveland Golf / Srixon return as the 'Presenting Sponsor".

Babson College's Chris Bornhorst defeated Castleton University's Zachary Temple in a one-hole playoff to win the 82nd Annual NEIGA Championship.  Both players shot a two-day total of 148.  Co-medalists for Division II went to A.J. Cooney (Assumption College), Stephen Hunt (St. Anselm College) and Matt Paradis (Southern New Hampshire University) who all shot a 152. Providence College's Joe DeChirico was the Club Division Medalist with a 153.

Southern New Hampshire University won the Division II and Overall Team Championship with a total score of 616, one shot better than Division III medalist Babson College. Providence College won the Club Division with a total score of 626.

In the long drive and closest to the pin contests, sponsored by Cleveland Golf/Srixon during Round 1, Eddie Paladeau (Worcester State College) and Brett Chatfield (Bentley University) won the long drive contests. The closest to the pins were won by Chad Alibozek (Salem State University) and Austin McCreary (Assumption College).

The All-New England teams are comprised of the Top 6 and ties in each division.

Division II All-New England:
AJ Cooney – Assumption College
Stephen Hunt – St. Anselm College
Matt Paradis – Southern New Hampshire University
Max Bock – American International College
Tad Link – St. Anselm College
Josh Lacasse – Southern New Hampshire University
Corey Purcell – College of St. Rose.

Division III All-New England:
Chris Bornhorst – Babson College
Zachary Temple – Castleton University
Owen Elliott – Tufts University
Daulton Wickenden – Husson University
Athan Goulas – Endicott College
Alex Carroll – University of Southern Maine
Luke Salerno – Castleton University

Club Division All-New England:
Joe DeChirico – Providence College
Ian Axford – Providence College
Kevin Scott – UMass Lowell
Matt Carlson – Providence College
Jimmy Walmsley – UMass Lowell
Craig Smith – University of New Hampshire

The Eagles return to the golf course in the spring of 2017.